Skip to main content


Agora / Polis
Everything changes here and 
everything stays the same. --Viridiana

Desire. Glamour. Dreams. Deceit.  

One hot summer. One bored teenager. Three enigmatic tourists.

Viridiana is bored and tired of watching the local fishermen bring in their catch. Anything is better than staring at dead sharks so when three tourists show up in town, Viridiana welcomes being their guide.  She is enthralled at their glamorous lives, clothes, manners. But then one of them dies and Viridiana is soon caught up in shark infested waters of her own.  We loved this book. It’s suspenseful, compelling and a fast read. 
We couldn’t stop until we knew the ending.

SUMMARY:  Baja California, 1979. Viridiana spends her days watching the dead sharks piled beside the seashore, as the fishermen pull their nets. There is nothing else to do, nothing else to watch, under the harsh sun. She’s bored. Terribly bored. Yet her head is filled with dreams of Hollywood films, of romance, of a future beyond the drab town where her only option is to marry and have children. Three wealthy American tourists arrive for the summer, and Viridiana is magnetized. She immediately becomes entwined in the glamorous foreigners’ lives. They offer excitement, and perhaps an escape from the promise of a humdrum future.  When one of them dies, Viridiana lies to protect her friends. Soon enough, someone’s asking questions, and Viridiana has some of her own about the identity of her new acquaintances. Sharks may be dangerous, but there are worse predators nearby, ready to devour a naive young woman who is quickly being tangled in a web of deceit.

Silvia Moreno-Garcia is the author of the novels GODS OF JADE AND SHADOW, CERTAIN DARK THINGS, UNTAMED SHORE, and a bunch of other books. She has also edited several anthologies, including the World Fantasy Award-winning She Walks in Shadows (a.k.a. Cthulhu's Daughters). Learn more about Silvia at